The spring edition of The Record is a special edition in Solidarity with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, and is part of the St Vincent de Paul Society’s commitment to respectfully learning from the First Peoples of Australia as we journey together towards the building of a more just and compassionate future.

Following the July federal election, four Aboriginal Australians took seats in the new Commonwealth Parliament.

Linda Burney made history by becoming the first Aboriginal woman to be elected to the House of Representatives after she won the inner southern Sydney seat of Barton for Labor. She was joined in Canberra by Labor senators Patrick Dodson, from Western Australia, and Malarndirri McCarthy, from the Northern Territory. Meanwhile the Liberal Party’s Ken Wyatt won the WA seat of Hasluck for a third time.

For this edition of The Record, Ms Burney speaks frankly about her upbringing and what drove her to pursue a political career.

An interview with NAIDOC week poster competition winner Lani Balzan is complimented with a video showcasing her work.  

You can also read about the Society’s involvement in a new response to unacceptably high levels of incarceration of First Peoples across Australia. 

Guest writers include journalist Stan Grant, SNAICC CEO Gerry Moore and academic Professor Larissa Behrendt.

The full edition can be uploaded here.